Eruptions

Redoubt Weekend Open Thread


Image courtesy of AVO/USGS by Ron Beck. Shows an ash plume from Redoubt (tan) on March 26 from a Landsat 5 satellite.

I’ll be “off the grid” for the weekend at a wedding, so I thought I’d leave this open for any Redoubt news Eruptions readers hear over the weekend. Feel free to leave comments about the developments up in Alaska.

Currently, AVO reports that seismicity is lower since the eruptions this morning. They indicate that eruptions will likely occur without warning from here on in.

There are also some new articles on how the eruption is affecting air travel, including cancellations of flights to/from Anchorage and increases in freight flights in and out of Sea-Tac (Seattle, WA) in response to the limited access to Anchorage’s Ted Stevens Airport. Back on the ground, road workers in Alaska have to deal with removing ash from the roads as well.

See you Monday!

Comments

  1. #1 Erik - Eruptions
    March 27, 2009

    I’m not off the grid just yet, so I’ll pass this along from AVO:

    An explosive eruption of Redoubt volcano occurred at approximately 19:25 AKDT (03:25 UTC). National Weather Service reports the cloud height to be approximately 51,000 ft above sea level based on radar.

    This comes after:

    An explosive eruption of Redoubt volcano occurred at approximately 17:35 AKDT (1:35 UTC). National Weather Service reports the cloud height to be approximately 40,000 ft above sea level based on radar.

    Here are a few more details from the AP.

  2. #2 Simon
    March 28, 2009

    Redoubt Volcano Latest Observations
    2009-03-28 15:47:42
    Another explosive eruption of Redoubt volcano occurred at approximately 15:29 AKDT (23:29 UTC). NWS reports a radar cloud top above 35,000 ft above sea level. Seismicity is still quite elevated.

    For ash fall advisories, refer to the National Weather Service Redoubt Coordination web page
    http://pafc.arh.noaa.gov/volcano.php

  3. #3 gg
    March 28, 2009

    I found this time lapse of Mount Redoubt very interesting:

    http://vimeo.com/3892358

  4. #4 Gordy
    March 28, 2009

    The Anchorage Daily News has a wonderful photo gallery of Redoubt’s eruption.

    http://www.adn.com/photos/environment/volcanoes/story/672347.html

    Have fun at the wedding Eric.

  5. #5 Gordy
    March 28, 2009

    Sorry, that is Erik with a k, not a c.

  6. #6 Randy
    March 29, 2009

    We received just a light dusting here in Anchorage Saturday evening following an eruption around 3:30 pm. There was a slight sulfur smell in the air. Overnight there were heavy winds which blew a lot of the ash around and created some interesting distributions of gray and white on the snow. No ash alerts now, as far as I know.

The site is undergoing maintenance presently. Commenting has been disabled. Please check back later!