The Quantum Pontiff

QIP 2009 in Santa Fe, New Mexico

I can taste the green chilies and after conference ski trip already:


Santa Fe, New Mexico USA. January 12-16, 2009.
First call for papers

Submission deadline for talks: October 20, 2008, 23:59 GMT.
Acceptance notification for talks: November 20, 2008.
Submission deadline for posters: December 1, 2008.
Acceptance notification for posters: December 8, 2008.
QIP 2009 workshop: January 12-16, 2009.


Quantum Information processing is the recasting of computer
science in a quantum mechanical framework. QIP 2009 is the twelfth
workshop on theoretical aspects of quantum computing, quantum
cryptography and quantum information theory in a series which
started in Aarhus in 1998. QIP 2009, like its previous editions,
will feature invited talks, contributed talks and a poster session.

Submissions of abstracts for contributed talks are sought in
research areas related to quantum information science and quantum
information processing. All submissions will be judged primarily
on their first two pages. Therefore these two pages should clearly
describe the ideas, results and techniques, and make a comparison
with previous related work, as appropriate. Beyond the first two
pages, more details can be provided; however any material beyond
the first two pages may be ignored at the discretion of the
Program Committee. Submissions that deviate from this format risk
rejection without consideration of their merits.

Submissions should be made through the conference website (linked to an electronic
submission server). The deadline for contributed talk submissions
is 23:59 GMT, October 20, 2008.


Dorit Aharonov (Hebrew University)
Cris Moore (UNM/SFI) (Chair)
John Preskill (Caltech)
Jaikumar Radhakrishnan (TIFR, Mumbai)
Renato Renner (ETH Zurich)
Peter Shor (MIT)
John Watrous (Waterloo)
Andreas Winter (Bristol)
Ronald de Wolf (CWI, Amsterdam).


Hans Briegel (University of Innsbruck)
Harry Buhrman (CWI, Amsterdam)
Wim van Dam (UCSB)
Daniel Gottesman (Perimeter Institute)
Aram Harrow (Bristol)
Patrick Hayden (McGill)
Richard Jozsa (Bristol) (Chair)
Julia Kempe (Tel Aviv)
Manny Knill (NIST)
Andrew Landahl (University of New Mexico)
Debbie Leung (IQC Waterloo)
Keiji Matsumoto (NII Tokyo)
Ben Reichardt (Caltech)
Alex Russell (University of Connecticut)
Barbara Terhal (IBM)
Frank Verstraete (University of Vienna)


Howard Barnum (LANL)
Jim Harrington (LANL)
Andrew Landahl (University of New Mexico) (Chair)
Cris Moore (University of New Mexico / Santa Fe Institute)
Jon Yard (LANL)


  1. #1 Steve Flammia
    July 3, 2008

    I think there might be both a pre- and post-QIP ski trip this year. Plus, Taos allows snowboards now! Hurray!

  2. #2 Dave Bacon
    July 3, 2008

    Damn one plankers will ruin the mountain.

    Of course the mountain is ruined for me in large part due to a traumatic experience of my own making.

  3. #3 Ian Durham
    July 3, 2008

    Totally unrelated comment: ScienceBlogs needs an RSS feed for comments in addition to posts (or needs to make it easier to find if it already exists). Actually, so does Blogger.

New comments have been disabled.