Ten U.S. Senators stood up against a pointless expansion of secret wiretapping. Fourteen missed the vote, including several candidates for the Presidency:

The heroes:

Boxer (D-CA)
Brown (D-OH)
Cantwell (D-WA)
Cardin (D-MD)
Dodd (D-CT)
Feingold (D-WI)
Harkin (D-IA)
Kerry (D-MA)
Menendez (D-NJ)
Wyden (D-OR)

Hopefully a respect for the basic rule of law will result in retroactive immunity being dropped from the bill. There’s no reason that telecoms who broke the law should be excused from their violation of the rights of innocent American citizens. It’ll take more than 10 votes to make that happen, so this is one of those times that you really ought to call your congresscritters and make it clear America should not be a police state.

    New comments have been disabled.