2015 Lane Anderson Award Shortlist: Celebrating the Best Science Writing in Canada

One of the real highlights for me every year is the late-summer announcement of the Lane Anderson Awards short list. Celebrating science books is a good thing. Celebrating Canadian writers is a good thing. Somehow in 2016, sunny ways and all, celebrating Canadian science writers seems like the best thing of all.

Some info on the award:

The Lane Anderson Award — created by the Fitzhenry Family Foundation — honours the very best science writing in Canada today, both in the adult and young reader categories. The winner in each category receives $10,000.

And the shortlist from their website here:

We’re excited to announce the finalists for the best Canadian science books written in 2015!

Adult Category

Frances Backhouse
Once They Were Hats: In Search of the Mighty Beaver
Publisher: ECW Press

Alanna Mitchell
Malignant Metaphor: Confronting Cancer Myths
Publisher: ECW Press

Andrew Nikiforuk
Slick Water: Fracking and One Insider’s Stand Against the World’s Most Powerful Industry
Publisher: Greystone Books

Michael Runtz
Dam Builders: The Natural History of Beavers and their Ponds
Publisher: Fitzhenry & Whiteside


Young Reader

Paula Ayer
Foodprints: The Story of What We Eat
Publisher: Annick Press

Elise Gravel
Head Lice: The Disgusting Critters Series
Publisher: Tundra Books

Merrie-Ellen Wilcox
What’s the Buzz?: Keeping Bees in Flight
Publisher: Orca Book Publishers

Cybèle Young
The Queen’s Shadow: A Story About How Animals See
Publisher: Kids Can Press


Winners will be announced at a dinner in Toronto in late September.

More like this