Shaw Prize in Astronomy

Via Cosmic Variance, news of the Shaw Prize in Astronomy for 2006:

Saul Perlmutter, Adam Riess, and Brian Schmidt are awarded the Shaw Prize in Astronomy 2006 in recognition of their leadership roles on the two teams that made the remarkable discovery of an acceleration in the rate of the expansion of the universe. Such an effect had been known theoretically since shortly after Einstein applied his theory of general relativity to cosmology, but the general belief, including Einstein¡¦s own assessment, was that the cosmological constant had no basis in reality. Thus, the 1998 announcement of the acceleration of the universe by the Supernova Cosmology Project and the High-z Supernova Search teams electrified the scientific community. The simplest interpretation, that the vacuum has energy even in the absence of matter and radiation, has profound implications that may revolutionize our understanding of the nature of the physical world and its ultimate fate. It is an achievement that is already taught to schoolchildren

It's impressive work, and the Cosmic Variance post includes a nice discussion of the results and how they were obtained. Check it out, and congratulations to the winners.


More like this

Congratulations to Saul Perlmutter, Adam Riess and Brian Schmidt for the Nobel Prize in Physics 2011 for the observations of the acceleration of the Universe. The prize is specifically for a series of papers, beginning in 1998, measuring the redshift and luminosity distance of a sample of type Ia…
"Oh, you gonna love this, boy. Tyrone calls you up, you know -- in the game -- and he says 'I can dig more clams than you, stupid!' And you gotta say 'Nuh-uh, boy!' And y'all gotta race down to the beach with your buckets and your shovels, and the object of the to find parking." -Meatwad…
Some say the world will end in fire, Some say in ice. From what I've tasted of desire I hold with those who favor fire. But if it had to perish twice, I think I know enough of hate To say that for destruction ice Is also great And would suffice. -Robert Frost Ever since the discovery of the…
This is really cool. Several years ago, the Gruber Foundation established a prize in cosmology. Last year (2006) the award went to John Mather and the COBE team; you may recall that Mather was one of the two winners of this year's Nobel Prize in Physics. This year the award is being split four…

"It is an achievement that is already taught to schoolchildren"

What, no lawyers?
No think tanks?
No well funded propaganda machines?

Just, ya know, Science?

Someone ought to clue in the creationists.